If You Think I’m Pompus and You Think I’m Bitchy…

11 Nov

The title is totally meant to be read in tune with Rod Stewart’s ‘If You Want My Body.’

Now that we got that cleared up let’s clear up the rest.

I don’t know if I ever addressed the fact that I struggled with my weight and my health for a long time before I became a vegetarian.

But I did. For 27 years and 7 months.

So if I come across bitchy at all know that I am not. I have simply already walked a lifetime in your shoes.

I struggled with my weight, hard. I am 5’4′ and at one point I weighed 180lbs.

I ate HORRIBLE ‘food’ and battled depression which was only exasperated by my awful eating habits.

I drank A LOT, everyday. For years.

I did hard drugs, lots of them too. For years.

Long and short, I was a mess, my life was a mess and never in my life would I have made the choice to go vegetarian. And never in my life did I think going vegetarian would save it.

To sum it up, on February 16th, 2008 I had what some would call a ‘divine intervention’.

I was out to dinner and I was eating chicken mole at a very nice Mexican restaurant.

During dinner I got cold and felt a presence about 4-6 feet above my head, I was then delivered a message that was told to me from above. It was spoken down to me, not in my ear.

The message stated : ‘This is the last time you will ever eat meat.’

I did not hear a voice, only the words.

I TOTALLY IGNORED IT, GOT FREAKED OUT, DIDN’T SAY ANYTHING, DIDN’T TELL ANYONE…

And woke up February 17th, 2008 as a vegetarian.

Since that day I have stopped battling my weight, my depression, my early on set arthritis (I played soccer and basketball hard) and my bad eating habits.

Obviously the hard drinking and hard drugs have flew the coop as well.

My thought process, the way I view the world, the way I view life and the way I view myself have all changed.

Changes I now wonder if I would have been strong enough to have had made on my own.

I don’t think I would have.

I don’t think I would have ‘seen the light’, I was blessed enough to be ‘shown’ it.

So that is my story and that is why I share.

Because being a vegetarian took me from a egotistical, over weight, depressed, alcoholic to a humble, blessed, compassionate and kind human being.

Which is probably who I really always was but my poor choices did not allow my goodness to shine.

Becoming a vegetarian saved my life and if sharing this helps save one more, my job here is done.

Stay Chizzle,

M.

Ps. And let it be known that I am not what one would call a religious person.

But 7 is the God Number.

I was 27 years and 7 months old when I received my  ‘intervention’.

2+7+7=16

1+6=7.

Makes you think, huh?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 Responses to “If You Think I’m Pompus and You Think I’m Bitchy…”

  1. corey November 15, 2014 at 11:44 pm #

    Is that the PEACE sign that you are showing ?

Leave a Reply

