Keep The Luxury, Lose The Leather. Leatherette.

23 May

Buying a car can be a down right harrowing experience, finding what you want/need in your price range can be the ultimate test of ones patience especially if you start to get all ethical about it. Then cars with leather seats just slide out the door. While looking for my current car 2 years ago I let the ethical take a front seat even though I was scoping out ‘luxury’ cars where leather is a staple. No offense to anyone but there is so much death in the ‘luxury’ market, from cars to coats it’s like everything labeled ‘luxury’ is a dead animal and I was not about to rest my rear on some poor cows hide for the next few years. Enter leatherette.

Leatherette is a faux leather that BMW, Acura, Saab and Mercedes all use in some makes of their cars and of course if you ‘build’ your own, you can choose leatherette over real leather. The perks of leatherette extend past it’s cruelty-free factor. Leatherette according to owners, lasts longer than leather, wears better and retains its look better over time. I will totally back this up, I am on my 2nd car with leatherette and it rocks. The car I am driving now is old but the leatherette still looks super good and its so easy to keep clean. You lose nothing in terms of esthetic or ‘performance’ if you go with the leatherette and in some cases I think it actually may cost less πŸ™‚

So this was my ‘ode to leatherette. Keep the luxury, lose the leather.

7 Responses to “Keep The Luxury, Lose The Leather. Leatherette.”

  1. vegansparkles May 23, 2012 at 9:21 am #

    I still love the moment I read that Tobey Maguire told Mercedes to shove their leather seated car when he was in Australia. Go Spidey! πŸ™‚

    • Author May 23, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

      Go Spidey is right πŸ™‚

  2. The Soulicious Life May 23, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    I had no idea that option existed. We opt for leather in all our cars because it’s easier to keep clean with the dogs, and yes, more luxurious than fabric. Fantastic to know there’s an alternative, especially in the high-end market.

    • Author May 23, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      I bought my first BMW in 2002 and chose the leatherette because it was cheaper and I was 21 so it mattered more to me in some sense.
      This time around at age 29 when I went to get another car, I was not even looking for a BMW but it won out because it had leatherette and a 5 speed but that is a whole ‘nother story πŸ˜‰
      Check it out next time, it is such good quality you will be surprised.

  3. ti noo October 15, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    luv the acura safety features with nav….smoking

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Keep The Luxury, Lose The Leather. Leatherette. Β« VeggieFitness | Luxury And Gadgets - May 23, 2012

    […] Keep The Luxury, Lose The Leather. Leatherette. Β« VeggieFitness ← Wakatobi to Build Luxury Tourist Ship Special Dock | Embassy of … Finding Car Warranties for Used Cars Is Not as Difficult as It Seems … → […]

  2. RESEARCH A CAR. « Magma - June 24, 2012

    […] Keep The Luxury, Lose The Leather. Leatherette. (veggiefitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

