Here I Am, Stuck In The Middle, Are You?

30 Jan

So it’s inevitable, if you lift eventually you will be stuck in the middle of two different weight amounts. Some gyms, like mine, provide you with 12 or 22 lb dumbbells but many places don’t. And to be honest, I don’t really lift in the area where the mid weights are stacked at my gym. It’s usually too crowed with people admiring themselves in the mirror. I am not with that, I am in and out, there to work, no need to check out my abs in the mirror lol. Anyways, I am stuck as we speak. I started to up my bicep curls from 20lbs to 25lbs without the aid of 22lbs dumbbells. At first this was ridiculous, some days I could get 2 reps done, some days 6 but since I switch my workouts every single time I work out, I was not only focusing on dumbbell curls. Last week I decided enough is enough, time for the 25lbs dumbbell curls even if I have to do the same exercise for 2 weeks, at this point I will whatever, I just need to break this darn plateau. So I figured that I would start with 25lbs dumbbells and rep out as many as I can, then drop my weights down to the 20lbs and complete my set of 20 or whatever failure happened to be during that set. This hurt but in a good way and in only 1 week I have noticed significant gains in how many reps I can get done with proper form. From 4 reps to 10 reps so I think we maybe onto something.

And it turns out we are. This is one of the safest ways to achieve strength gains. Some people will tell you to wait until you can complete 15 reps of the higher weight before you are ready to move on but that makes no sense to me. If you can rep out 15-20 of anything than you are ready to increase to a weight where you can only rep out less. You have to overload the muscles to achieve growth, this means lifting heavy. Now if you want to maintain the current muscle size you are sporting now then stay with the same rep and weight frame but do not allow yourself to go any lower in weight then where you are at. Above all be sure the weight you are upping to is not too heavy for you. I have totally been guilty of this in the past, where I was too eager to up my weights but that meant compromising my form. No good. Stick with the lower weights and the proper form, the strength increase will come if you are working hard.

So if you are like me, stuck in between two weights then simply grab both sets and make it happen. Start with the heavier weight and do as many reps as you can then finish your regularly scheduled rep set with the lighter weights. In only a few work outs you will notice that you can lift more with the heavy weights, then you are on your way 🙂

English: an exercise of biceps

4 Responses to “Here I Am, Stuck In The Middle, Are You?”

  1. Dumbbell Concentration Curls isolate the biceps and are good for getting a peak contraction in the muscles.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Essential Gym Tips #1 - Total-Gains | Total-Gains - February 4, 2012

    […] Here I Am, Stuck In The Middle, Are You? (veggiefitness.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Tammy J. Answer Your Question About Fat Burning Diets For Women | Fat Burning Diet - March 5, 2012

    […] = '';} } Eliminate Flabby Fat And Replace It With Solid MuscleHere I Am, Stuck In The Middle, Are You?Here I Am, Stuck In The Middle, Are You? var _gaq = _gaq || []; […]

  3. Tammy J. Answer Your Question About Fat Burning Diets For Women | Fat Burning Diet - March 5, 2012

    […] = '';} } Eliminate Flabby Fat And Replace It With Solid MuscleHere I Am, Stuck In The Middle, Are You?Here I Am, Stuck In The Middle, Are You? var _gaq = _gaq || []; […]

Leave a Reply

