Windowfarms.

16 Dec

I can’t remember how I came across Windowfarm but I am glad I did, this is one of the coolest inventions I have seen in a while and I know you will agree. Created by a Texas native who is now a Brooklyn transplant, these little growing systems are perfect for those who fancy fresh herbs and greens but reside in a concrete jungle. I know I will personally be buying one of these, I need some fresh basil and greens at my disposal whenever I want it and growing it outside, around here, is simply not an option 😦

Windowfarms are made from plastic bottles and a small hydroponics system that delivers nutrient enriched water to the veggies you plant in the bottle. Each bottle can contain a different veggie and you can do as few as 3 or as many as 16 in one standard sized window. There are 2 ways you can go about becoming a ‘Window Farmer’. You can build your own farm or you can order a pre-made one. Pre-made farms will start shipping in March of 2012 but if you want to choose you own adventure, apparently it is not too hard to construct your own farm. You just need a few hours, a few tools and you will be good to go.

Now when it comes to the electricity you use to run your Windowfarm, we are talking pennies a day. Literally. Think $1-$3 dollars a year for 10-20 plants. Saving your money and the environment. By growing your own food you cut down on transportation needed, chemicals used, petro used and best of all you get to eat the food when it is fresh, not after it has been shipped then stocked on the shelves. As a city dweller I must say that this is exactly what I have wanted and I cannot wait to get my hands on one 🙂

Cultivate Your Own Crops.

http://www.windowfarms.org/ Windowfarm Homepage.

Leave a Reply

