Trader Joe’s Breaded Chickenless Nuggets.

28 Nov

I am always skeptical when it comes to trying mock ‘meats’. I am so picky that I tend to not like 90% of the things I try, perhaps this is why it took me over 2 years to finally try these ‘Breaded Chickenless Nuggets’ from Trader Joe’s. Last week I decided to give them a whirl and right away I noticed that they look nothing like the ones on the front of the box. Confusion set in but my hunger prevailed.

They cooked up super easy in the oven in about 15 minutes and they came out perfectly crispy. They reminded me of Veggie Patch’s mock chicken nuggets, light yet crispy with no nasty soy after taste. There is not much taste to these little guys but the texture is right on. It’s better off something be a bit bland as opposed to over spiced and salted in my book. Being a bit bland is nothing some buffalo sauce can’t cure 😉

All in all these little guys are a good deal. They are easy to make on those nights when cooking an actual meal is just not an option. I have the palate of a child so I think would be safe to say kids would totally dig these. Plus they are not bad for you, they are all natural and with only 130 calories per serving (4 nuggets) you manage to get 12 grams of protein and 5 grams of fiber.

2 Responses to “Trader Joe’s Breaded Chickenless Nuggets.”

  1. candicepeak November 28, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    I’ll have to try these. I love the meatless “chicken” nuggets. I didn’t know Trader Joes made some! I personally like the Boca Chicken Nuggets. Yum!

    • Author November 28, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

      I have never tried them, thanks for the heads up. I will look for them next shopping trip.

Leave a Reply

