Say Cheese!

1 Nov

Remember ‘saying cheese’ in pictures? I have not thought about that for sooo long. Those were the days when the mom would be taking the picture at the birthday party and all the kids would be yelling ‘CHEESE’ with their missing tooth grins l-o-l. Too cute. Anyways when it comes to ‘CHEESE’ these days I, like many vegetarians just stay away if I don’t know the 4-1-1. I would rather not eat cheese then take a chance on it having rennet in it. Rennet is simply too nasty and at the end of the day, I just don’t sweat cheese all that much. I am telling you, I was born a vegetarian/vegan 😉

What I do like is a grilled cheese every now and then. I am not opposed to vegan cheese at all but sometimes it is just not available at the particular grocery store in am in at the time. This is precisely how I came across Tillamook Cheese, sheer fear. The fear of having to trudge through another overcrowded grocery store only to wait in line for 30 minutes. Thanks but no thanks. So I settled for the Kosher Tillamook Cheddar I came across at Trader Joe’s.  This cheese company was started over 100 years ago by a community of dairy farmers in Oregon. Today it is composed of 110 dairy farmers who own the Tillamook County Creamery Association and some of them are actually related to the ones who started it all. Pretty neat huh? The best thing about Tillamook for us veg heads is the fact that all but 3 of their cheeses are vegetarian friendly, made with a vegetable based rennet. This is a big deal for us because it can be rather hard to find a Colby or Jack cheese made with vegetable rennet. In fact I have yet to come face to face with one. The one that I did come across was  awesome and I am keeping my eyes open from now on because I want to try their Jack. Many of their cheeses have been titled ‘The Best In America’ so if you like to get your cheese on then you may want to look into this company.

Tillamook offers so many cheeses it’s ridiculous. If you ever find yourself in Tillamook County Oregon be sure to stop by the Tillamook Cheese visitor center, it is open 8am-6pm 🙂

http://www.tillamook.com/products/Cheese.html  Tillamook Cheese Homepage.

2 Responses to “Say Cheese!”

  1. Stacy Andris Skalski November 6, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    Hi!
    I was wondering if you have any information on what happens to their bull calves? Do they keep all? Are any sent to slaughter?
    I looked on the company website and could not find any information, although they seem to have a high standard of practice for the care of their milk cows.

    • Author November 6, 2011 at 10:13 am #

      I will email them and see.
      I blogged about them due to the reasons you stated, they seem to have high standards and they formed this community such a long time ago. Quality product, vegetarian rennet etc.
      But trust, it is a double edge sword to me anyway it is sliced and none of it makes me particularly comfortable. Not just where do the bull calves go but do the dairy cows get to life their lives out or are they sent to slaughter eventually? I know they are at Cabot.
      Dairy is WAY more complex then just milk and cheese, there is a whole domino effect I will touch on this in a future post.
      Thanks for caring, you rock 😉

Leave a Reply

