Dead It.

13 Jul
Luis Javier Rodriguez, made for wikipedia, mig...

Slow, Steady With Proper Form Is The Only Way To Do A Dead Lift.

The worst part of my body always has been my hamstrings. I do not know why almost 20 years of soccer and basketball did not create the hamstrings I so desired 😦 It was always upsetting to me that my quads were so big and bulky yet my hamstrings were flat and cellulite ridden. So unfair, especially when you are busting your butt the way I was back in the day with all of those sports.  Once I stopped playing sports I lost a pretty good amount of muscle mass and weight but I never lost those beat hamstrings.

When I started lifting 4.5 years ago I was really focused on sculpting the body that I wanted. I was always fearless with weights, doing lunges and squats right off the bat. Never holding back. I soon saw results that kept me motivated but my darn hamstrings were still gross and flat. Finally last year I got to the point where I could not take it anymore, the back of my legs was officially not like the rest of my body and I had to do something about it STAT. That is when the ‘Dead Lift’ came into my life and changed my legs forever.

The Dead Lift is a super popular move in the power lifting scene, it is quite simple to do but you have to get the hang of the form first. This compound move works your glutes, hamstrings and quads, as well as your adductor magnus and erector spinae. To do a deadlift you start at a stabilized bent over position with your dumbbells or barbell on the floor in front of you, keep your feet a little closer than shoulder width apart. Grab your weight in an overhand position so your arms are vertical to the floor. Next bend through your knees so your shins are down by the weights, which should be at the middle of your feet with your upper back directly above the weights. Now lift the weight but keep your shoulders back and down and keep your head inline with your spine. Lastly pull the weight towards your body, up over your knees and thighs until your hips and knees are locked. Do Not Lean Back once you are in this position, you can and will hurt yourself. Once you complete the lift, slowly lower the barbell or weights back down by pushing your hips back first then bending your knees once the weight reaches thigh level. Totally simple, just takes some time to get the form spot on.

Now it has been 14 months since I started doing dead lifts with dumbbells and barbells and apparently I finally have hamstrings that pop out instead of lying flat. A few weeks ago the chick at the bagel store said something to me about them, which was nuts. No one has ever commented on my hamstrings before but it was one compliment I was more the willing to accept. She asked me how I did it and I simply said ‘Dead Lifts’.

2 Responses to “Dead It.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strength Training And Precisely Why It Helps - September 9, 2011

    […] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } proclus : Adult #muscle loss happens to almost everyone – #diet #weight #metabolic #fatStrength Training For Golf – No Gym RequiredUp to 40% Savings on Cap Barbell Strength Training EquipmentDead It. […]

  2. The Actual Benefits of Strength Training - September 26, 2011

    […] = ''; } 9/19/11 – Monday – Complex TrainingDead It..broken_link, a.broken_link { text-decoration: line-through; } var analyticsFileTypes = ['']; var […]

Leave a Reply

