New York, New York City Of Dreams But Everything In New York Ain’t Always What It Seems.

16 Jun
Banded Goose

Blame It On The Geese.

I have lived in and around NYC my whole darn life minus 1 year when I lived in Maryland. The longer I stay here the more upset, disgusted and repulsed I get. WHAT IS HAPPENING TO MY CITY? The NYC I now see is not the NYC that I know, this city is crazy. It is nothing more than a police state now, all of the character is fading and what is left is big box stores, chain restaurants and miserable people. Back in October I had the pleasure of watching a NYPD Mounted Police Office punch the $hit out of his horse, in the face, and today I wake up to read more horrible animal cruelty stories from the Big Apple. How does this city never learn? They just kill things and assume it will make it all better, it does not and it is not acceptable. Don’t even get me started how the Center For Animal Care and Control in NYC is still a kill shelter too. That is a whole other beef I have.

Today’s beef has to do with NYC deciding that all geese that are seen around airports will be rounded up and sent to a slaughter-house in Pennsylvania. They are only now doing this in a  ‘humane’ way because they got called out by the Department of Environmental Protection for gassing the geese and then dumping them in landfills. All I can muster up is a big W.T.F. For real, that is just repulsive. How is this logical? How does this make sense? How does this stop anything? Manhattan, Queens, Brooklyn, Bronx are all surrounded by water, obviously there will be lots of birds and geese around, THEY LIVE HERE. Not to mention, they were here FIRST. So the best plan it to slaughter them? That is so barbaric and illogical I cannot even really entertain it. That does not and will not eliminate whatever problem the city of NYC feels it has. They claim this is necessary since the plane that landed in the Hudson River in 2009 had to make an emergency landing cuz a pack of geese got stuck in some part of the plane. All I can say to that is BULL$HIT. This was ONE occurrence. ONE occurrence in the most populated air space in the world maybe. We have JFK, La Guardia and Newark Airports all within 15 miles of each other and ONE time something happens. If you ask me, that is a pretty good safety ratio and does not call for mass slaughter of living creatures.

Enlargement of the 20-dollar bill. Enlargement...

If We Are Supposed To Trust In God Then How Come We Kill His Creatures?

I live right on the Hudson and I look forward to the Spring and Summer every year so I can see the families of geese together. They are so cute with their babies and I love how the hang as a family. Many people hate geese cuz the poop a lot, my response to that is so do babies. How geese poop is a big deal is beyond me, I remember playing soccer on fields littered with geese poop and we never cared and the parents never complained. Not once did anyone ever mention anything about killing them because they were ‘inconveniencing’  their lives. Killing animals because we feel they are in our way is immoral, wrong, abusive and should be illegal. How can we call ourselves a productive society? A progressive society if all we can do is kill things as an option? That makes no sense to me. Is this not the nation that has ‘In God We Trust’ on it’s money? How are you going to push God on your countries people and kill his creatures in the same breath?

The Hypocrisy Of Our Democracy NEVER Ceases To Amaze Me.

End. Of. Rant.

2 Responses to “New York, New York City Of Dreams But Everything In New York Ain’t Always What It Seems.”

  1. theveganweddingplanner June 16, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    …And what a wonderful rant it is. So true, they annoy me, let’s kill them. Really?!

    The other day on the way to the train station there was a wild turkey crossing the street (Gotta love NJ). He slowed down my trip, should we kill him, too? (meat eaters might say yes, but that isn’t really the point).

    • Author June 16, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

      Why thank you my fellow veg head. This pissed me off so bad. I really do not understand the logic behind this at all. If you killed that turkey you would have saved like 2 minutes on your trip 😉

Leave a Reply

