Stay Slim Secrets.

23 Feb
A diet rich in soy and whey protein, found in ...

This Is How You Should Be Eating. Fresh, Colorful And Healthy.

I don’t know if I would really call them ‘secrets’ but who knows. All I do know is that these simple tips work when it comes to staying full, staying slim and having energy. So much of what we eat just zaps our energy and expands our waistline. All those packaged processed foods kill our bodies bite by bite. So do those horrible diets where you are ‘not allowed’ to eat certain food groups, and so does going out to eat all the time. I think these 3 things are the biggest culprits when it comes to losing weight and keeping it off.

Here Are 5 Stay Slim Secrets:

1- Eat More And Eat Often.

There is NOTHING worse for your body and metabolism then starving yourself. To maintain a healthy weight you MUST feed your body the right things and you must feed it OFTEN. Eating every 3-4 hours will help keep your metabolism humming and it will keep you full. You NEVER want to allow yourself to get to the point where you are starving because we all know what happens then, junk food attacks. Try eating snacks that have protein, fat and carbs in them to keep you full throughout the day. My favorite snacks that keep me going are some raw almonds with a banana. A fat-free Greek yogurt with strawberries or blueberries. A Lara Bar. A protein shake and an apple. Or some trail mix with nuts, seeds and dried fruits. I personally eat about 6 times a day and try my hardest to never allow myself to get famished because then I reach for the chips, not a good look.

2- Ditch The Diets.

Please I beg you all to STOP with the diets. They are all scams and they are all a bunch of bull. Let us all think LOGICALLY for a minute…you deny your body something, what is your body going to crave? The very thing you deny it. A no carb diet for instance is a nightmare on so many levels. NO CARBS? How is that even healthy or realistic? It is not. Cutting out any food group (meat not included because it is not part of the vegetarian/vegan food pyramid) is a bad idea. By cutting carbs you are not only cutting out healthy whole grains but you are also cutting out fruit. Bad move. The object of the game is to NOT be on a diet. The object of the game is a LIFESTYLE CHANGE. Ditch the diets and fake foods they push and start to eat good, whole foods throughout the day. Combine this with a solid exercise routine and I assure you, you will NEVER have a weight problem again.

3- Drink A Lot Of Water.

When I first decided that I was going to lose weight once and for all in 2005 I reached for water right away. At the time I hated the taste of water so I was drinking some flavored water for the first 2 months until myself and my body made the adjustment. After 2 months I was down 10lbs, no sweat, literally. I think all the water cleared my system out, I started to pee more and I started to feel better. These days I drink anywhere from 2 liters to 1 gallon of water per day. I do not even think about it anymore, it is second nature and my body thanks me for it. Staying hydrated will help you avoid headaches, muscle cramps and fatigue. Also many times when we feel hungry, we are simply thirsty. Never wait until you are thirsty or feel parched to drink water, just do it all the time.

4- Only Eat It If You Can Read It.

It is time to ditch those boxes of processed foods. Those chemical bombs known as ‘100 calorie packs’ are included too. From now on, when you shop, ditch the box. Most of the stuff you have in your shopping cart should be fresh produce, spices, healthy oils and other natural foods. Next time you are shopping take a look at the nutrition labels on the junk you buy. See how many ingredients are real and/or good for you. Then put the box back on the shelf and vow to never put those chemicals into your body again. Replace junk chocolate with real 70% dark chocolate and enjoy in moderation. Forget the pre-made cake mixes, make your own healthy cookies with oats, walnuts and raisins. Once you eliminate the processed junk your taste buds will thank you and whole new world of food will open before your eyes.

5- Learn How To Cook.

This is where being a vegan/vegetarian really rocks. Us Veg Heads have to know how to cook a little something something. I am not talking Emril type cooking, not even Rachel Ray style need be. Just simple recipes with simple ingredients. A veggie burger on a whole wheat bun with some baby red potatoes tossed in olive oil, sea salt, pepper and rosemary. Easy to make and very good for you. Make a quick pasta dish by sauteing some garlic, basil and tomatoes in olive oil and tossing it in some penne. When you go out to eat the food is usually dosed in fatty, cheap oils and you also have to risk cross contamination if you are a Veg Head. That is my biggest reason for never eating out anywhere except vegetarian restaurants. I can tell within 10 minutes of leaving a restaurant whether my food was prepared with meats. I get sick. Not to mention I like to know what I am eating and how it is prepared. Save yourself thousands of calories by getting friendly with your stove.

Good Luck, You Can Do It!!!!

Remember it only takes 21 days to establish new habits in your life. Make them POSITIVE!!!

Olives in olive oil.

Be Sure You Are Getting Enough 'Good Fats' From Foods Like Olive Oil And Nuts.

Leave a Reply

