R.I.P. Jack Lalanne, A True Fitness Legend And Vegetarian.

24 Jan
Jack LaLanne receives a Lifetime Achievement A...

Jack In 2007 At The Age Of 93, Recieving A Lifetime Achievement Award.

This is truly a sad day for those of us who are into fitness. The man behind the madness, an icon in the industry and an all around good guy, Jack Lalanne has passed away at the age of 96!!! Part of me is sad that he will no longer be with us but the bigger part of me is like 96!!! That’s OLD. What a GREAT life Jack had. He inspired millions of people to get into fitness, he showed us all that it is never too late to adapt a life of fitness and healthy nutrition. Jack himself practiced what he preached, he worked out 2 hours every morning. The first hour he lifted weights then the next hour he did pool exercises. This was also a man who had not had dessert since 1929. NO DESSERT IN 70 YEARS?!? That is dedication beyond comprehension to me. I ate like 8 Oreo’s yesterday and am trying to convince myself, ‘It’s not that bad.’ πŸ˜‰

I always liked Jack and his wife Elaine. I remember watching her on T.V. in the 80’s with her ‘super cool’ 80’s workout gear on. I always wanted work out gear that looked like her and Olivia Newton-John in her ‘Let’s Get Physical’ video but sadly, I was too young to ever rock such amazing garments 😦 Jack brought fitness from the gym to your living room, he was the original ‘Work Out DVD’, the original ‘Fitness Guru’. He was also a vegetarian since 1930, he sometimes ate egg whites and did eat white fish from time to time. These were not a daily occurrence though, his diet manly consisted of soy protein (50 grams as soon as he got up), fruits, veggies, nuts and carbs. Being a man of my own heart, Mr. Lalanne DID NOT believe in low carb diets. He was a huge fan of brown rice and whole grains, proving once again that cutting carbs from your diet is NOT the way to go.

So here is to Jack Lalanne’s legacy, here is to his wisdom, his truth and to his lifestyle. All of you weight lifters who eat meat 7 times a day need to take a look at Jack’s life. You do not make it to 96 by eating the way most of us do.

R.I.P. Jack, I’m sure you already have the ‘Big Man’ doing calisthenics πŸ˜‰

Jack And Elaine. The Couple Who Trains Together, Stays Together πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “R.I.P. Jack Lalanne, A True Fitness Legend And Vegetarian.”

  1. Cliff January 30, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    A fitting eulogy and I’ve been going through blogs reading what people said but you stated it well. An American Hero. I wish I could know exactly what he heard when he went to that Paul Bragg (Apple Cider Vinegar People) lecture as a teenager and that is what inspired him into his lifestyle. I read too, that he prayed that the man upstairs would just aid him to conquer his demons of eating sugary things.

    • Author January 31, 2011 at 6:49 am #

      Thank you so much. Jack was the man, and all I wanted to do was show people how dedicated he was to his passion. As a vegetarian and an avid fitness buff, I read many things about Jack over the years but the fact that he was a vegetarian was never mentioned in any of my fitness magazines 😦

Leave a Reply

