Recipe Time: Mozzarella, Raspberry And Brown Sugar Panini.

14 Jan
Mozzarella cheese

You Cannot Go Wrong With Fresh Mozzarella.

Ok, so I found this recipe in my December issue of Health Magazine. At this point in time my boyfriend and I get like 70 different magazines because A. I love to read. 2. I support print publications and D. Because he had like 50,000 miles from Delta that were going to expire and they gave him the option of getting like 20 magazines instead of losing the miles. So now we get it all, from Health to Time, two travel mags and a slew of other things. I am LOVING it since I get to have access to a constant stream of advice, recipes and facts all at my finger tips 🙂

This recipe sounds utterly amazing. I have yet to make it but I am sure it is not far in my near future. I just re-found it again and now I am blogging it so I cannot lose it. This makes about 4 servings, suggested serving size is 1/2 a panini if you are using big thick bakery style white bread, as suggested. The calorie count is around 270 with 7 grams of protein and 1 gram of fiber. Enjoy!!!!

Mozzarella, Raspberry And Brown Sugar Panini.

Ingredients:

– 1/4 Cup Olive Oil.

–  8 Slices Of Thick Bakery Style White Bread.

– 1/2 Cup Of Raspberry Jam.

– 2 Teaspoons Of Fresh Chopped Rosemary.

– 8 oz Of Fresh Mozzarella Cheese, Drained And Patted Dry.

– 2 Tablespoons Of Light Brown Sugar.

– Salt (Optional).

Directions:

– Preheat panini press or grill pan.

– Using a pastry brush, brush oil on both sides of the bread. Spread jam evenly over one side of the bread and sprinkle with rosemary. Cut the mozzarella into 8 slices, place 2 slices on each of the four bread slices. Sprinkle a pinch of salt over the cheese and top remaining 4 slices of bread, jam side down. Sprinkle the tops wit brown sugar.

– Grill panini in a panini press until the cheese has melted and the bread is golden and crispy, this will take 3-5 minutes. If you do not have a panini press then you can use a rigid grill pan. Place the sandwiches in the pan and place a weight such as a brick wrapped in tin foil or a heavy cast iron skillet on top to press them down. Brown the first side (2-3 minutes), flip the sandwich, replace the weight and brown the other side (2-3 minutes) to finish melting the cheese.

– Cut paninis in half and serve.

Sandwich press for panini.

This Panini Is A Breeze To Make Even Without A Panini Press.

Leave a Reply

