Eat Your Fruit…For Dessert.

6 Jan
Fruits

With So Many Different Fruits Out The Dessert Possibilities Are Endless.

I love fruit and I love dessert. At times I love dessert more than fruit but as I become more conscious of what I put into my mouth, I realize that dessert every night is just not realistic nor is it that good for me. Since I tend to always have an abundance of fruit in my house, using it to create delicious and healthy desserts seems like the most realistic approach to dessert. Below are a few fruit to dessert options I have come across, Enjoy!!!

Warm Apples With Cinnamon.

Slice one Golden Delicious apple (I am sure any apple will do) and combine in a saucepan with 2 tablespoons of apple cider, 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and a pinch of cinnamon. Cook over medium heat, stirring until the apples are tender. Serve with a dollop of  plain Greek yogurt.

Grapes In Port Wine Sauce With Cinnamon And Honey.

Simmer one cup of ruby port wine with a strip of lemon peel, 1 cinnamon stick and 1 tablespoon of honey until it reduces to about 1/4 of a cup which will take about 15 minutes. Add in 2 1/2 cups of halved red grapes, coat with mixture and serve.

Grilled Bananas With Maple Syrup.

Peel banana and cut in half lengthwise. Brush with canola oil and grill 2-3 minutes per side. Serve drizzled with a little maple syrup.

Oranges With Honey And Almonds.

Peel and slice an orange into rounds and arrange on a plate. Drizzle with honey and top with toasted, sliced almonds.

Peach Frozen Yogurt.

Throw one cup of frozen peaches into a blender with one cup of  Greek yogurt. Blend for 10 seconds and serve.

Fruits of apple cultivars - Golden Delicious

Apples Are An Easy Fruit To Use In Desserts.

Last night after dinner I was still a bit hungry and to my dismay we have no junk food in the house, so I cut up a Gala apple into 4-5 big pieces. I popped open this INSANE bottle of honey our friends sent us from Hawaii and sprinkled a little cinnamon atop. It was so good, so easy and it filled me up. If you are looking to make these recipes vegan, swap the honey out and replace it with agave or maple syrup and use a soy or coconut milk yogurt in place of the Greek.

Leave a Reply

