Purely Decedent Is Right.

8 Nov

Purely Decedant Peanut Butter Chocolate Swirl Coconut Milk Ice Cream.

Once again, I am back with another coconut milk based product and once again my review is positive. Turtle Mountain has really been coming through for me BIG TIME these days. My latest purchase was Purely Decedent Coconut Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Ice Cream. This came HIGHLY recommended by my BFF. I actually had never seen this before at my grocery store. For some reason the pints of non dairy frozen goodness are not stocked next to the non dairy novelties goodness. I guess this makes sense to keep the pint with pints and novelties with novelties, but it think it has been messing up my mojo.  That is all in the past now because I stumbled into a plethora of flavors. It is about to be on and poppin’ between coconut milk ice cream and myself.

I decided to try this one first, because chocolate peanut butter ice cream is one of my favorite things ever. Plus my BFF is super picky like I am (we are total ‘texture’ chicks) and if she liked it then it is almost guaranteed I will too. I noticed right away that there was swirls of chocolate in it. Yesss. Then with closer examination I see peanut butter too. Yesss. They were not lying. Unlike the other coconut products I have tried, the taste of coconut was very apparent in this ice cream. At first bite I tasted coconut, then chocolate, then the peanut butter. I know this is going to sound weird but somehow the coconut managed to not over power the peanut butter and chocolate even though, to my taste buds, it was more prevalent. I had never had coconut mixed with these two flavors and I found it to be very complimentary. I loved it. I guess it helps that coconut, peanut butter and chocolate are three of my favorite things ever 😉 My boyfriend thought it was great too, and he was really shocked to see how much ‘swirl’ there was in it. He also really liked the texture, unlike some other non-dairy options we have tried.

To me the texture of this ice cream was more like a sorbet. It was creamy, but a little different then ice cream. Not in a bad way. Once it is in your mouth, it tastes just like ice cream. It melts like normal ice cream, but does not scoop the same. The ingredients list is full of real ingredients, not a lot of chemicals and garbage. It is sweetened with agave nectar as opposed to sugar which gives it a sweet taste but not overly sugar. This frosty dessert is PACKED with fiber… 6 GRAMS, which is amazing. It is also pretty high in fat at 13 grams, but 9 of those are saturated fat which occurs naturally in coconut milk. This type of saturated fat is actually very good for you unlike saturated fat in dairy. It is certified vegan and has no cholesterol.

I loved this ice cream and wish I did not kill the entire pint last night 😦 This weekend I will find my next victim and I think it is the chocolate chip cookie dough flavor….

http://www.purelydecadent.com/products/purely_decadent_Coconut_Milk.html Here They Are..

My favorite brand of guilt free healthy ice cr...

Passion Mango Flavor

One Response to “Purely Decedent Is Right.”

  1. Mary November 25, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    My favorite!! Staple item in my freezer, this flavor too. Choc chip cookie dough is good too.

Leave a Reply

