Recipe Time: ‘Vegetarian Friendly’ Green Goddess Dip and Homemade Pita Chips.

15 Sep
green goddess dip

Green Goddess Dip With Raw Veggies.

I was only introduced to Green Goddess Dip in 2004. Yes 2004, which is crazy because this dip was super popular in like 1974. In my pre-vegetarian days I was visiting a dear friend of mine in Florida and we cooked up a storm those two weeks. Everything from baked potatoes to peaches on the grill to spicy chicken breasts and caramel flan. We had a great time and we ate like queens. On my second night there, we were looking for some quick nosh and she pulled out this super 70’s looking bottle of Green Goddess Dressing. I was like ‘What the hell is that?” I mean after all.. it was bright green and I had never seen it before. I will never forget the look on her face as she asked me ‘YOU HAVE NEVER HAD GREEN GODDESS BEFORE???” ‘No.’ But that response from her assured me that I was missing out on something special. So I tried it. I loved it. It fell somewhere between a ranch (one of my favorites) and a creamy Italian. I haven’t seen it since then, but have always thought about it. So, low and behold, this month in one of the ten million magazines we get there is a recipe for GREEN GODDESS DIP!!!! It sounds like a great outline for this dip, but I did some more research and found some ways to make it healthier and tastier.

The original Green Goddess recipe calls for anchovies, mayonnaise and sour cream which is not a healthy start. Instead I have made the base of this recipe avocado and fat free Greek yogurt. You can feel free to replace the Greek yogurt with fat free sour cream, but Greek yogurt has way more protein and that will help fill you up. Avocados are great for dips like this, high in fiber and rich good fats. They blend well and are filling. This dip is great served with raw or lightly steamed veggies and pita chips. I have included a recipe for homemade pita chips also in case you’re feeling adventurous 😉 This is an easy appetizer to make if you are entertaining people or going to party where you’re bringing your own dish. The whole mess from dip to pita can be done in about a half hour.

Healthy Vegetarian Green Goddess Dip:

1 cup fat free Greek yogurt

2 cups chopped avocado (about 2-3 small avocados)

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

1/4 cup white wine vineager

2/3 cup freshly chopped chives

1/2 freshly chopped parsely

1 small shallot

Sea Salt

Put avocado, yogurt, lemon juice, vinegar, 1/3 cup chives, parsley, shallot and salt to taste all in blender or food processor and puree until creamy. Stir in most of remaining chives and leave some as garnish.

Homemade Pita Chips With A Kick:

3 6 inch whole wheat pitas

2tsp Canola Oil

2tsp Cumin

2tsp Chili Powder

Sea Salt

Preheat oven to 350. Cut each pita into 8 wedges and brush with oil. Sprinkle cumin, chili powder and sea salt all to taste.

Bake for 6-8 minutes or until edges start to brown. Turn off the oven and let chips sit for 15 minutes until crispy.

Find YOUR inner goddess 😉

pita chips

Baked Pita Chips.

Leave a Reply

