Any Which Whey.

29 Aug
Containers of whey protein being sold at a hea...

Image via Wikipedia

Some may say, what the heck is whey? That’s a good question and a MUST know if you are into health, fitness and working out. As an athletic vegetarian, I have had to learn how to substitute veggie and dairy proteins for animal proteins. At first I did not pay much attention, but as I got to spending more time at the gym and more time lifting weights I realized that I needed to UP my protein to build the muscle I wanted. Not getting enough protein can be a downfall for lots of vegetarians and vegans who fail to plan in advance, or fail to do their research. Like I said before, making the transition is not hard. It just takes some time (and a little leg work is always a good idea).

So why whey? Whey is a protein form that comes from milk, and is actually a by product of cheese, making it cool for vegetarians but not so cool for vegans (sorry guys). That description makes it sound really nasty tasting, and just nasty in general, and to be honest if I read that before I started using whey I may actually be really turned off by it, but bear with me πŸ˜‰Β Β  Whey is super popular in the fitness world today because of its ability to be digested very rapidly. Quick digestion allows the protein to become available for muscle building very quickly, which makes it most commonly it is used after workouts. Whey also helps increase levels of amino acids in the blood, which are taken up by the muscles to ultimately increase mass. I am not necessarily talking mass like Mr. Universe, but just muscle mass in general which is a great thing since muscle needs more calories to thrive then fat does. In other words the more muscle you have the more calories you burn even when your just standing still. Easy enough right.

I use vanilla whey after my morning workout as part of a smoothie I make with bananas, frozen fruit, plain fat free yogurt and a little Tropicana 50 Blueberry Pomegranate juice (orange juice also works great). I use two scoops of protein powder, and make this smoothie for me and my boyfriend. It tastes really good and is full of vitamins, minerals and protein. Using high antioxidant berries like blueberries and cherries in the smoothie is a really good idea. I put the exact recipe for my breakfast post workout smoothie at the bottom of the page. In the afternoon, or at night, I have a chocolate protein shake and I have just mastered the recipe for this shake to make it taste just like a milkshake. No joke its very good and I actually love drinking it. These are 2 easy ways to get another 25-50 grams of protein in your diet. Remember even if you are working out VERY hard you do not want more then 1 gram of protein per body weight. Anything more is a waste. The body simply cannot digest a lot of protein so pumping yourself full of extra protein will only mean extra calories. I weigh between 120-128 at 5’4 and usually never intake more then 100 grams of protein a day. I also lift a lot, and do a lot of cardio, so my energy expenditure is quite high yet I never feel like I am having too little protein.

Since I am very picky with everything in life, my choice of whey is no exception. I do not like my whey to taste to milky since I am not a milk drinker at all. I also like my whey not to be very thick, since I can control the consistency with ice if need be. I also prefer chocolate to any other flavor because in my opinion it tastes the least like protein, which to me is the whole point πŸ˜‰ Whey comes in every color, flavor, and brand you can think of, and this itself is an overwhelming decision. You want to get a whey protein isolate, since the isolate form is the purest and fastest absorbing. Do not be afraid to ask the sales people at The Vitamin Shoppe or GNC or wherever you shop. I LOVE The Vitamin Shoppe in my town. The manager is so helpful and knowledgeable, and has taught me a lot about different protein sources since I started going there. People in the health and fitness industry tend to be very helpful and informative, so do not be afraid to ask for some assistance.

The best whey proteins I have tried are by Dymatize Enterprises, and can be found online or at The Vitamin Shoppe. I use both the vanilla and chocolate, so I can vouch for them both when I say they taste great, dissolve quickly, have high quality ingredients and are priced VERY WELL. You want a whey that is low in fat and calories, and obviously the less ingredients the better πŸ˜‰ Here are the links to the whey I use and also the recipes for two great protein shakes.

Find your own whey…

http://www.vitaminshoppe.com/search/en/category.jsp?type=brand&brandId=b1062 – Dymatize Whey Protein Link

Chocolate Protein Shake:

1 scoop Dymatize Chocolate Protein powder (a big heaping scoop)

4oz Chocolate Almond Milk

8 Ice cubes

Blend all ingredents in blender, the longer you blend the less thick it will be. I blend for less then a minute and eat it like a Frosty from Wendys πŸ˜‰ For a Vanilla shake, substitute chocolate protein for vanilla and chocolate almond milk for vanilla almond milk. Makes one protein shake.

Breakfast Protein Smoothie (for 2):

2 scoops Dymatize Whey Protein powder

2 bananas

1 cup of frozen berries

1 cup of plain fat free vanilla yogurt

1/2 cup Tropicana 50 Blueberry Pomegranate juice (you can use water or soy/almond/skim milk too)

Blend all ingredients in blender for 1 minute or until smooth. Serve immediately. This is a great post workout shake or just a great breakfast shake. Makes 2 protein smoothies.

One Response to “Any Which Whey.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Drink This After You Work Out. « - October 13, 2010

    […] https://veggiefitness.wordpress.com/2010/08/29/any-which-whey/ My Previous Post On Whey […]

Leave a Reply

