Got (Almond) Milk?

22 Aug
February 6 2008 day 118 - Low carb. almond milk

Image by DeathByBokeh via Flickr

Almond milk. It sounds odd, a little off putting even, but yet interesting to someone who has never heard of it or seen it before. Let me tell you though, this stuff is GOOD. REALLY GOOD!

Making the switch to a vegetarian lifestyle really breaks down to a series of steps. I don’t think most people wake up one day and say ‘I’m going to be a vegetarian from now on’ย  and just run with it, nor do I feel this is a realistic approach to the transition for most people. I personally DID wake up one day and said ‘I am a vegetarian’ and never looked back, so know that, yes, it surely can be done. For most people though, it will occur in steps… maybe even baby steps. And baby steps are better then no steps ๐Ÿ˜‰

This brings me to the introduction of our first ‘transition food’ on this blog. You will see me use the phrase ‘transition food’ often because they are the basis to creating a healthy foundation for your new vegetarian life. A transition food is. in my opinion, one that can easily replace a current non-vegetarian/vegan option. I honestly think almond milk has been one of my favorite discoveries in my vegetarian life ๐Ÿ™‚ Aside from being vegan, and all natural, it is also a great non-dairy alternative to those who are allergic to soy or lactose intolerant.

As you may know, almonds are what some call a ‘prefect food’. They are high in protein and contain the good fats our body needs to survive. In the antioxidant field, they pack a punch and they are very versatile as far as cooking and baking go. Almond milk is further proof of how versatile these little nuts truly are. It usually comes in two to three different flavors depending on location and availability. Original, Vanilla and Dark Chocolate and all either sweetened or unsweetened.

The Unsweetened, which is a natural flavor with no added sugar, is the most commonly found. It has 60 calories per serving and is really good in cereal, coffee and baking. Iย  also commonly see the Vanilla which is lightly sweetened and has 90 calories per serving. Vanilla is what I use on a regular basis. I think it makes my healthy cereal taste amazing, like Lucky Charms or something bad for you ๐Ÿ˜‰ I have seen unsweetened vanilla flavor in many places too. This is a very practical substitute for cows milk, but it tastes so much better. Today I was lucky enough to come across what I saw to be the third flavor of almond milk, dark chocolate. Heck yes you read that right! And I must say that it is as amazing as it sounds. The combination of dark cocoa and almonds is an antioxidant power house. There are 120 calories per serving and this can easily be used in many different ways, from protein shakes to baking.

The two most common brands I have seen in the supermarkets are Silk Almond Milk and Blue Diamond Almond Breeze. Its usually found right next to the cows milk, but I have also seen it at room temperature by the cereal and/or baking sections. I would go with either Silk (the known makers of soy milk) or Blue Diamond (the company that in my opinion grows some of the best almonds I have ever had). They are usually on sale for $3.00-$3.50/half gallon and for some reason both companies bombard me with the coupons that I get with the receipts. And they are really good coupons too, usually $1.00 off or more. Today I bought 2 half gallons of Silk brand and got a Blue Diamond Almond Breeze coupon for a free half gallon. I am guessing the almond milk market competition is becoming intense these days ๐Ÿ˜‰

Go nuts…

silkpurealmond.com

bluediamondalmondbreeze

One Response to “Got (Almond) Milk?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Got (Coconut) Milk? « - September 29, 2010

    […] This is it. https://veggiefitness.wordpress.com/2010/08/22/got-almond-milk/ The link to my post on Almond Milk, in case you missed it. Coconut Milk Is A Great Non Dairy, Soy […]

Leave a Reply

