Fact Of The Day: 30% Of Meat Eaters Would Not Date A Vegetarian. Who’s Picky?

16 Jul

This is comical to me since us vegetarians are always being the ones called ‘picky’ and ‘stuck up’ when it comes to their diet and life choices. Well it comes to find out that meat eaters are WWAAYY more pickier about who they date than us veg heads are. So picky that in fact, 30% of meat eaters would never even go on a date with a vegetarian. And for us ‘picky’ veg heads, only 4% of us said we would never date a meat eater according to the most recent study done on this topic by Today and Match.Com.

I personally don’t get this but then again I am a veg head who could never date a meat eater so I guess when I flip it around and reverse it, I see where they are coming from, to a degree. My whole issue is that people just break vegetarians and meat eaters down to what they eat. One group eats meat and the other doesn’t. What I have learned about vegetarianism is that it is not that cut and dry, being a vegetarian tends to effect a lot more than just what we eat. It changes mind frames and outlooks making dating a carnie a lot more complicated than simply sitting thru dinners at Ruth Chris. So whereas meat eaters simply strike us out cuz we don’t feast on flesh, I tend to think the 4% of veg heads who strike out meat eaters do it for many more reasons than the fact that the other eats meat.

The whole reason carnies don’t want to date veg heads is because of food. That is the number one underlying reason. Carnies think that we will not be as fun in social settings around food and they also view food as a way to kick back and relax. So I guess we are crappy dinner guests that are uptight and not fun. Others also state meat as a ‘luxury to our ancestors’ (yes they are really going there with that) therefore us refusing to share in this luxury is like damming a cultural aspect of American life.

So I guess the moral of this story is if you want to date a carnie and you are a veg head then you better not tell. On the other hand you can just go to veganpassions or vegdate and hook your very own plant-eating Prince/Princess Charming with no drama attached. At least there will be no arguments over where you are going to eat  :)

http://www.inquisitr.com/270955/30-of-meat-eaters-refuse-to-date-vegetarians-study-finds/

Can We Feast In Peace?

3 Responses to “Fact Of The Day: 30% Of Meat Eaters Would Not Date A Vegetarian. Who’s Picky?”

  1. The Soulicious Life July 16, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    I find that interesting. I met my now husband almost 12 years ago when he was a meat eater and me a veggie. Never once did my vegetarianism play a role of any kind in our relationship, nor any of my past boyfriends for that matter. Maybe it’s a Colorado thing? In any case, my husband is the first to ensure I get a veggie meal at any special beer or wine pairing dinner we go to, etc., and continuously thanks for me helping him to eat healthier all these years. Thought he hasn’t given it up completely, he rarely eats it at home and devours my veggie homecooked meals. He also suppurts our raising our child veggie. Guess I’m pretty lucky! He’s awesome. ;-)

    • Author July 16, 2012 at 11:23 am #

      You are very lucky!!!
      My sisters, both vegetarians are both married to meat eaters and it has never been an issue for them.
      I find family members of vegetarians to almost be overly concerned about us having foods to eat at restaurants/parties etc.
      I think a lot of these 4000 people in this survey have misconceptions about vegetarians to begin with :)

  2. silver price July 24, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    All of us meat eaters have an inner vegetarian living inside us: they’re that little voice yelling somewhere down the back of our heads whenever we cook or eat meat. They usually sound like Mahatma Gandhi, look like Missy Higgins, and have little bits of chervil stuck to their teeth.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,322 other followers

