Tasty Treats Review: Lula’s Sweet Apothecary.

13 Mar

Lula's Sweet Apothecary Is Located In The East Village Of Manhattan.

Vegan ice cream is completely hit or miss for me. I love coconut milk based ice creams but I am not too big on soy based ones. There are just very few soy based ice creams that do it for me. This made me anxious and excited to see what Lula’s had in store for me. This vegan ice cream shop located in New York City boosts 100’s of positive reviews on the internet, most from non vegans :) Luckily I happen to agree with those 100’s of people, Lula’s blew me away.

This small, even by NYC standards small, little ice cream joint is located in Manhattan’s East Village on 6th St. It is a complete ‘blink and you will miss it’ type place. It looks very old inside, with lots of little bottles and trinkets around, it is very cute. There is really only one table to sit at, which was occupied when we were there, this is more of a grab and go type place. I opted for the chocolate and cake batter soft serve in a sugar cone. My boyfriend went with the cookies and cream hard ice cream. The cake batter ice cream is cashew based, the chocolate is soy based and the cookies and cream is coconut milk based so we tried a bit of everything. I can personally say my cone was the best ice cream I ever had. Vegan or not, it does not matter. This ice cream was simply better. The taste was natural and robust. The texture was creamy and delicious. The best part was there was no weird coating in my mouth or funky aftertaste and I did not get a stomach ache like I do from regular ice cream sometimes. I really loved the texture of the soft serve, I cannot believe how much the cake batter ice cream tasted like cake batter. It was almost magical lol. My boyfriends was delicious too, the coconut milk base was creamy and thick. The ice cream was full of Oreo pieces and my boyfriend loved it.

Lula’s is defiantly one of those places you just have to go to if you are visiting NYC, vegan or not. I can safely say there is no other place like this around here. Lula’s is in a class of it’s own. Prices are steepish, but remember it’s Manhattan and you get what you pay for ;)

http://www.lulassweetapothecary.com/ Lula’s Sweet Apothecary.

516 East 6th St. New York, New York. 10009

646 481 5852 Info@LulaSweet.Com

Hours: Sunday: 3pm-10pm. Monday: CLOSED. Tuesday and Wednesday: 3pm-10pm.  Thursday, Friday and Saturday: 3pm-11.30pm
Lula's Sweet Apothecary on Urbanspoon

One Response to “Tasty Treats Review: Lula’s Sweet Apothecary.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homepage - July 22, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    [...] Read More: veggiefitness.wordpress.com/2011/03/13/tasty-treats-review-lulas-sweet-apothecary/ [...]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 448 other followers

